The story of the Phoenix Restaurant was not yet complete. In October 1945, Peter Cannone and Frank Del Monte acquired the Phoenix Restaurant from Manuel Lazopulos, who had owned the restaurant for 2 years. The new owners continued to use the Phoenix Restaurant name until mid-1946.
Changes were in the air. The two partners had acquired the former Dutchland Restaurant at 129 Chestnut Street in June 1946. After renovations were completed, the Chestnut Street eatery was renamed the Can-Del Food Shop and the Phoenix Restaurant was renamed the Can-Del Restaurant.
On August 2, 1946, the Can-Del Food Shop opened for business. This Chestnut Street venture was intended to showcase seafood entrees along with other dishes. There were 20 booths installed along with available counter service, pretty much standard for many restaurants of this era. In 1947, the business changed its name to Cannone’s Food Shop.
At about the same time, the Can-Del Restaurant at 596 Dwight Street was renamed the Del Monte Restaurant.
The Chestnut Street eatery was short-lived, closing in 1948. A sale of the Cannone Food Shop assets took place on July 22, 1948.
Del Monte Restaurant continued to operate at 596 Dwight Street until it was sold to Julia Adelson in December 1955. Julia Adelson previously owned the Star Restaurant on High Street for 20 years. The Del Monte Restaurant would be renamed the Mid-Town Restaurant, a story which continues in the next chapter of eateries at 596 Dwight Street.
Citations:
Newspapers.com (paid subscription): Citations: Holyoke (Massachusetts) Transcript & Transcript-Telegram; Springfield (Massachusetts) Republican; publication dates and pages are shown.
Ancestry.com (paid subscription): Price & Lee Holyoke, Massachusetts, City Directories






























